Website: Evernote

Because this is my first normal post in a while (I just started blogging after a long hiatus), I’d like to apologize in advance if some of this seems clunky in style. The fact that it’s pretty late at night doesn’t help much either.

I’m a huge note-taker. On my first blog, one of my first guides was on taking effective notes. I have a decent memory, but I can’t trust myself to keep track of every idea I have or every memory I want to keep. For that, I use an EcoJot notebook, my cellphone’s camera and calendar, and a wall covered in dry-erase material.  The thing is, I’ve always had some fear that if I somehow lose any of them, quite a few of my ideas and memories will be lost. That’s where Evernote comes in.

This post is about a website/application called Evernote. Simply put, Evernote is a digital notepad. You sign in, after which you see a simple interface for organizing and creating notes. From there, you can create, edit, and tag notes and upload photos to your account. If you install the Evernote software, you can do all of that outside of your browser. Assuming that your handwriting isn’t of chicken-scratch caliber, the service also offers a handwriting recognition tool that can accurately search for terms you’ve written. There’s also an iPhone app, but I haven’t had the chance to use it. 

Another thing that I like about Evernote is its online bookmarking feature, called “clipping.” To use it, you bookmark the button found on their website (evernote.com), then highlight any part of a website you want to save and click the button. The process is self-explanatory and simple from that point.

To check the website out, visit Evernote at www.evernote.com.

Leave a Reply

